Faith and Faithless

Corinthians 2 6:14-18  (NLT)

14.  Don’t team up with those who are unbelievers. How can
righteousness be a partner with wickedness? How can light live
with darkness? 15.  What harmony can there be between Christ
and the devil? How can a believer be a partner with an unbeliever?

This is something I have been toying with for the duration of my current walk with God.  I have been in a relationship for four plus years and my partner is completely faithless.  He grew up in a Catholic family and he did not have a good relationship with it growing up and thus he has push all thoughts of god and faith out.  He is not opposed to my interest in finding faith.  He says he supports my choices although I am not sure.  

I used my YouVersion Bible and searched the NLT for “partner” and this was one of the passages that hit me.  It asks all the same questions I am feeling.  The answer to the situation in the bible is to separate yourself from the unbelievers. 

As God said:
“I will live in them
and walk among them.
I will be their God,
and they will be my people.
17. Therefore, come out from among unbelievers,
and separate yourselves from them, says the Lord.
Don’t touch their filthy things,
and I will welcome you.
18.  And I will be your Father,
and you will be my sons and daughters,
says the Lord Almighty.”
 
I am not sure how I feel about this.  I do recognize that my relationship with him has been strained for several years and I understand that I am to put my faith in the Lord to help guide me to the light.  I just hope that at some point the light and grace of god will fill my partner and that I can share my learning with him.  As it stands now we do not talk about my journey other than one sided conversation where I feel as though I am talking to my self.  This will be an ongoing discussion I will be having with the Lord.
 
 
Leave a Reply

